The Indian team for the World Test Championship final against Australia, which will commence on June 7 at the Oval, London, was announced on Tuesday. Ajinkya Rahane’s inclusion and Suryakumar Yadav’s exclusion from the 15-member squad were the highlights of the selection. 

Kuldeep Yadav and Ishan Kishan, who were absent from the squad that played against Australia in the 3rd and 4th Tests, were also not included. Shreyas Iyer was unable to participate due to an injury. Additionally, all-rounder Shardul Thakur was chosen for the WTC final team.

Former India captain and ex-coach Ravi Shastri praised the BCCI selectors and management, lauding them for selecting the best Indian team. “Well done selectors and team management,” Shastri tweeted, impressed by the squad named for the summit clash.